Goals Update, Month 2

Whoa, what’s that up there? Month 2?! Well, I’m just a few days shy of eight weeks of these goal updates. And I’ll be honest, they’re boring me. Probably almost as much as they are boring you.

I think the public chronicle of these big life goals I set up for myself this year is important. Thinking of having to post, “Oops, I did nothing but play Warcraft, eat goldfish crackers, and break up fights between my children this week,” keeps me motivated. But I think that, just for the sake of keeping things interesting, I’m going to drop these posts down to monthly updates.

The Blog: This has been going great. I’ve been keeping up with blogging, and I’m pretty happy with what I’ve been posting. Also, my blog traffic keeps increasing, which feels fantastic. It’s nice to feel that there are some folks who are also interested in what I’ve been writing. A huge thanks to folks who have linked to my posts and shared them with people.

My Novel: Progress continues, but it’s definitely slow. You know that Ira Glass quote about the gap between your skill level and your taste level? Definitely feeling that.

Weight Loss: I’ve lost 11 pounds so far, which is just about a third of my goal. I’m at the point now where I can see that there’s been a change, which is very encouraging. (Also, my pants are loose. I forgot a belt one day last week, and nearly flashed everyone in Target. I’m calling that a success.)

Exercise: You didn’t think I’d do it, do it? Well, today I started the second week of Couch to 5K. It’s tiring, and a lot of work, but it’s also still very much within the range of what I’m capable of doing. I was afraid I’d feel silly, but I’ve been doing it before the kids get up in the morning, and the only people I see are a group of high school students waiting for the bus. And I’m happy to report that I really don’t care what they think.

Ok, look for the next goal update in the second half of October! Thanks for all the support. It’s really meant a lot.

About Mark

I'm a stay-at-home dad with a husband and two young sons. When I'm not driving the kids to school or camp or swimming lessons or cleaning up bathroom accidents, I try to remember to update my blog.

Posted on September 17, 2012, in Goals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

