Goals Update: Week 5

A pretty good week, though not for writing!

1. No blog post yet this week, but I’m working on a followup to the one about my fingers and second grade bully. It’s about blame, accountability, and a concerning message that’s in been in some of the feedback I’ve received.

2. Novel progress was very small this week. Blame the launch of Guild Wars 2. I’m not even going to pretend to feel bad, because:

3. The diet is going well. In my first week, I lost five pounds. I’m aware that it’s not representative of what I’ll see going forward (nor would that likely be healthy) but it tells me that I followed the plan properly, did the right stuff, and am totally on track. Also, it’s totally 14% of my goal.

4. Exercise. I’ve been thinking of trying something like the Couch to 5K plan. Has anyone else tried this?

About Mark

I'm a stay-at-home dad with a husband and two young sons. When I'm not driving the kids to school or camp or swimming lessons or cleaning up bathroom accidents, I try to remember to update my blog.

Posted on August 31, 2012, in Goals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. A blogger friend of mine just started couch to 5k in Jan this year – she’s 50 and a breast cancer survivor and I think she ran her first 5k in May? Anyhow, she is now officially addicted to running like me 🙂 I started running last year…didn’t do Couch to 5k specifically, but just started running with friends and worked my way up. What I like about the 5k distance is that it is not hard at all to find time to work up to it. You feel an obligation when you go the gym to spend at least an hour there. Plus the travel time back and forth. If you have a route near home or else right out your front door, you can get in a good run in 30 mins. That time factor is hugs for me, so I imagine it would be even ore so for you with your much younger kids. I say go for it!

Leave a Reply

