Week 1: Goals Update

It’s been one week since I wrote that post about setting goals for myself, so I thought it might be fun (and keep me honest!) if I posted an update on my goals. Here goes:

First, updating the blog regularly. I will call that one a success. A couple of days after my post about setting goals, I wrote a piece about why I have no first amendment concerns with Boston’s mayor saying Chick-Fil-A isn’t welcome. I think a blog post a week is a pretty good goal. (And let’s be honest, much more than that, and I would very quickly run out of things to say.)

Second, progress on my novel. Huge success! I wrote 8500 words this week. That’s definite, unqualified progress.

Third, losing weight. Not so good. Looked up information about Jenny Craig, since Consumer Reports rated them highly. Thought about calling, but totally chickened out. Instead, took the kids to Burger King to celebrate Chick-Fil-A appreciation day.

Fourth, the dermatologist. I thought about why I hate dermatologists so much, which still probably deserves its own blog post. But no actual progress on that one. (And that’s a shame, because this goal is really a freebie. If I call to make an appointment, I will probably have a three-month wait, during which time I still totally get credit on this goal.) But no credit until I actually make an appointment.

Fifth, my hair. Totally avoided getting a desperately needed haircut, and I look like a mad professor. But I will totally be forced to go get a cut tomorrow, since we are going to a cookout and I would be too embarrassed to go looking like Doc Brown from Back to the Future. (Could I call it cosplay?)

Sixth, exercise. I checked in at the YMCA twice on Foursquare, which sounds great. But I was totally there to bring my four-year-old to swimming lessons. Maybe I got some exercise-y vibes, though.

So the tally is 2 yays and 4 nays, but I’m actually feeling pretty good about it. Writing 8500 words was huge, and more important to me than most of the rest.

Let’s see how these goals are shaping up next week.

About Mark

I'm a stay-at-home dad with a husband and two young sons. When I'm not driving the kids to school or camp or swimming lessons or cleaning up bathroom accidents, I try to remember to update my blog.

Posted on August 3, 2012, in Goals and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

