Some 3DSatisfaction

If you say that headline out loud, it sounds like dissatisfaction, right? Oh well, I tried.

A few months ago, I tried out a 3DS in a store. Took me a minute to get my eyes to adjust, but then it was amazing. New, different, and very appealing. I made my husband give it a try, too.

“Does this mean we need to get one?” he asked.

“No, not yet,” I replied. “I’ll wait until a few months from now when there are some games I want.”

So now it’s a few months later, and there still aren’t any games I want. I went over to Gamespot this morning to look at the available games, and this is what I saw:

Not exactly awe inspiring ...

Three of the ten best rated games are NINTENDOGS?!

So it’s not exactly surprising to see that Nintendo’s investors aren’t happy, is it?

I was burned on a console once before. I bought a PSP at launch, and was extremely disappointed when no games came out. Sure, six years later, it’s an all right handheld, and I can download old PSOne games, but it took an awfully long time to get there. After that, I decided not to buy consoles at launch anymore. I’ll wait until there’s a large enough library of games that I won’t feel conned if the library doesn’t expand.

About Mark

I'm a stay-at-home dad with a husband and two young sons. When I'm not driving the kids to school or camp or swimming lessons or cleaning up bathroom accidents, I try to remember to update my blog.

Posted on July 29, 2011, in Gaming. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

