The World is Upside Down

Day is night! Black is white! My three-year-old just told me, as he was finishing lunch, that he needs to take a rest today. So we walked upstairs, he climbed into bed, and now he’s taking a nap for the first time in a few months. And with that, I’ve been afforded a great opportunity to write my first blog post.

Here, I plan to write about the intersection of the three biggest areas of my life: being a parent, being a married gay man, and being a big old geek. Sometimes it feels like they don’t intersect at all — my husband and I are the first parents among our gay male friends, and when I’m at one of my sons’ events, I often feel shockingly suburban, shockingly mainstream, and completely assimilated. And when I feel assimilated, I think, “BORG!”

About Mark

I'm a stay-at-home dad with a husband and two young sons. When I'm not driving the kids to school or camp or swimming lessons or cleaning up bathroom accidents, I try to remember to update my blog.

Posted on July 27, 2011, in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Resistance is futile.

    Love your writing! ūüôā

Leave a Reply

